COVID-19: Up-to-date information on patient visitation, FAQs, donations and more. Learn More

UofL Physicians leaders among 2012 MediStar Award finalists

Published on April 27, 2012

UofL Physicians CEO Michael Bukosky and distinguished UofL Physicians doctors Roberto Bolli, M.D., and Kerri Remmel, M.D., Ph.D., have been named finalists in this year’s MediStar Awards. Presented by Medical News, the sixth annual awards recognize excellence in the business of healthcare by honoring healthcare professionals for their achievements in advocacy, innovation, education, leadership, design, humanity and meeting consumer needs. The Physician of the Year award is also announced at the event. Bukosky is a finalist for the leadership award, Bolli is nominated in innovation, and Remmel is up for Physician of the Year.

Ben Keeton, publisher of Medical News, said, “We extend our congratulations to the selected MediStar finalists. Medical News received over 80 nominations for this prestigious event. Each of our nominees this year is indeed a ‘star’ in their own right, and each finalist is the ‘best of the best’ among these fine nominees.”

This year’s MediStar Awards will celebrate the 20th Anniversary of Medical News as well as feature networking with more than 500 healthcare professionals and executives, a cocktail reception and the presentation of eight awards. Winners will be announced at the MediStar Awards on Tuesday, May 22, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Louisville. Below is a complete list of finalists.

The Hall Render Leadership in Healthcare Award

Presented to an individual or organization demonstrating outstanding leadership in the business of healthcare.

  1. Norton Healthcare
  2. Michael W. Bukosky, University of Louisville Physicians
  3. Helen Overfield, American Diabetes Association

The Crowe Horwath Innovation Award

Presented to an individual or organization that has positively impacted healthcare delivery costs through the development, design or implementation of new technology.

  1. Kentucky Health Information Exchange
  2. Roberto Bolli, M.D., Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s Healthcare, a part of KentuckyOne Health
  3. UofL Health Care Supply Chain

The Seven Counties Services Healthcare Advocacy Award

Presented to an individual or organization that is an effective advocate at the local, state or national level concerning issues such as, but not limited to, access to care initiatives that support healthy lifestyles.

  1. Vasti Broadstone, M.D., Floyd Memorial Joslin Diabetes Center Affiliate
  2. Therese Sirles, Kosair Children’s Hospital
  3. Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky

The ARGI Financial Physician of the Year Award

Presented to a physician who has demonstrated outstanding leadership on a local, state or national level to improve accessibility, affordability and quality of healthcare in our region.

  1. Madonna Ringswald, D.O., Baptist Hospital Northeast
  2. Kerri Remmel, M.D., Ph.D., University of Louisville Hospital Stroke Center
  3. Scott Hedges, M.D., Seven Counties Services

The AHIP Consumer First Award

Presented to an individual or organization that has demonstrated the most “consumer friendly” program or facility.

  1. CenterOne, Seven Counties Services
  2. Recovery Mall at Eastern State Hospital
  3. Mary Haynes, Nazareth Home
  4. James Graham Brown Cancer Center Mobile Mammography Unit

The A.O. Sullivan Award for Excellence in Education

Presented to an individual or organization that has developed and implemented programs which increase the level of knowledge, education, and career opportunity in healthcare.

  1. UofL Pediatrics – Forensic Medicine
  2. Carol Fout-Zignani, Norton Healthcare
  3. ULH Nurse Residency Program

The Governor’s Dignity of Humanity Award

Presented to an individual or organization that through its mission and its actions has improved availability and/or access to healthcare services for our region’s under served or vulnerable populations.

  1. Christian Care Communities
  2. Supplies Over Seas
  3. Kelly Gunning, NAMI Lexington
  4. UofL School of Dentistry/RAM

The Facility Design Award

Presented to an individual or organization that has designed, built or implemented the most innovative facility within the region.

1. Kosair Children’s Medical Center, designed by LMH Architecture
2. Home of the Innocents, designed by Michael Koch & Associates
3. University of Louisville School of Dentistry, designed by Luckett & Farley

Visit the web site at for additional information about the awards.